First #1 for The Chainsmokers
  Back to all news

First #1 for The Chainsmokers

August 13, 2016

Big moves by Twenty One Pilots, Jonas Blue, MØ and more!

After debuting at #2 last week, The Chainsmokers’ fourth top 50 single, ‘Closer’, has moved up one spot to give the American duo their first #1 on the ARIA Charts.

Featuring on this week’s #1 album, Suicide Squad: The Album, a jump of 14 spots for ‘Heathens’ has given Twenty One Pilots a second top ten single. It’s the track’s eighth week in the top 50.

In its third week in the top 50, Jonas Blue’s ‘Perfect Strangers’ has climbed four spots to #7, hitting the top ten for the first time.

This week’s Singles Chart also features moves for MØ’s ‘Final Song’ (up five to #18), Mike Perry’s ‘The Ocean’ (up five to #22), DNCE’s ‘Cake By The Ocean’ (up three to #28), Kungs vs. Cookin' On 3 Burners’ ‘This Girl’ (up eight to #29) and Selena Gomez’s ‘Kill Wm With Kindness’ (up nine to #36).


#3: DJ Snake Feat. Justin Bieber ‘Let Me Love You’ – French producer DJ Snake picks up his highest debut/peak on the ARIA Singles Chart with ‘Let Me Love You’. Featuring vocals from Justin Bieber, the track comes from DJ Snake’s debut album Encore (new at #10 this week). The producer’s previous best was with ‘Middle’ (#5 Dec. ’15).

#17: Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons, X Ambassadors, Ty Dolla $ign, Logic ‘Sucker For Pain’ – In what has to be one of the most unique and diverse combination of artists, Lil Wayne and Wiz Khalifa have teamed up with the likes of Imagine Dragons, X Ambassadors, Ty Dolla $ign and Logic to deliver ‘Sucker For Pain’, a genre-bending anthem from this week’s #1 album, Suicide Squad: The Album.

#39: Skrillex & Rick Ross ‘Purple Lamborghini’ – Also from Suicide Squad: The Album, ‘Purple Lamborghini’ brings together dubstep producer Skrillex and rapper Rick Ross.